Friday, October 4, 2013

Learn Thai Tones

Sawat-dii everyone,

I've got a brand new video lesson about the 5 Thai tones.

As you probably know, Thai is a tonal language. So that means when the tone used to say a word changes, the meaning of the entire word changes too. That's why it's very important to learn how to speak the tones correctly.

The 5 tones are: Mid, Low, Falling, High, & Rising

If you try to say a word, but you use a wrong tone, you could accidentally say something very different from what you meant.

For example:

sǔai (rising tone) = beautiful
suai (mid tone) = unlucky

So if you forget the rising tone when you try to tell a girl she is beautiful, you'll really be saying that the's unlucky! Be careful. :)

Please watch the video to practice your tones.

Hope you enjoy the lesson!